Circle of Excellence Award


As a recognized symbol of quality, the Circle of Excellence Award is presented by the Distribution Business Management Association (DBM) to leading companies in various industries. The recipients represent the highest standards of quality and technology, providing a model and goal for all businesses. The Circle of Excellence Award recognizes the important attributes and characteristics of Consistency, Integrity, Responsibility, Commitment, Leadership, and Excellence, which the people in the organization exhibit and uphold.

DBM presents this award to one company each year that represents excellence and a strong commitment to the environment. The award recipient is chosen from an international panel of judges from the top universities and associations.

Recipients of the Circle of Excellence Award include the following:

  • 2017 – IBM Corporation for its profound commitment to environment and social responsibility through energy, conservation, recycling, reuse and product stewardship.

    Joanne Wright, VP Enterprise Operations and Services, IBM (2nd from left) accepts the 2017 Circle of Excellence Award with Jack Thorn, Ph.D., Chairman, DBMA (left), Lou Ferretti, Project Executive, IBM (2nd from right) and Amy Thorn, Executive Director, DBMA (right).

  • 2016 – Duke Energy for its strong commitment to environmental stewardship and social advocacy through corporate governance, environmental policy, climate strategy, human capital development and labor practices.
  • 2015 – Starbucks Coffee Company for the sustainable supply chain management strategies, continued company commitment to growth through innovation and solutions to affect positive change in the communities it serves through social advocacy programs.
  • 2014 – Procter and Gamble
  • 2013 – Safeway
  • 2012 – Kimberly-Clark
  • 2011 – PepsiCo, Inc.
  • 2010 – The Hershey Company
  • 2009 – Chiquita Brands
  • 2008 – NYK Logistics
  • 2007 - Staples, Inc.
  • 2006 - Circuit City
  • 2005 - CVS
  • 2004 - Dell
  • 2003 - KRAFT Foods
  • 2002 - Lockheed Martin
  • 2001 - Coors Brewing Company
  • 2000 - Roadway Express, Inc.
  • 1999 - Sears, Roebuck and Co.
  • 1998 - UPS
  • 1997 - Mercedes Benz

Nominations for COE Award

To nominate your company or a company that you believe meets the Circle of Excellence Award Criteria, or you would like more information about the DBM Circle of Excellence Award, contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call us at (717) 295-003 to speak with Amy Thorn, Executive Director.

About DBM

The Distribution Business Management Association (DBMA) provides think tank forums between business and academia that seek solutions to the pressing issues facing today’s and tomorrow’s supply chain and logistics executives.